Love All The Books.

Phasms Vol 1: Infinite Potential by Barbara Garren

My Review

I was given an ARC to review and I had a few minutes, I thought I would start this book. Barbara actually brought me to tears. I cried. I grieved. She mentioned things about bereavement I had wondered if anyone else had ever thought before. She wrote it so powerfully and incredibly well. That being said there were always characters helping to keep it light, pulling us back from the grief and pushing us deeper into the story.

When I picked this book up next I didn’t put it down again. I had to know. I had to get to the end. The paranormal element comes slowly, weaving it’s way into the main character’s life before taking hold. I finished the bulk of this book in one sitting. My ass was numb. I had to finish it.

Watch out for Barbara’s leading men though. They can be real beasts. Wink Wink. See what I did there?

Below is an interview, a blurb to give you a taste, and a giveaway to get your hands on some serious swag.


Interview with the Author

So, Barbara – Phasms Vol 1 (Infinite Potential) has been out for a week. What was release day like for you – and how has this week been, as a debut author?

*Chuckles* Well, release day was interesting. I didn’t plan anything special – in fact; I told my husband I just wanted to treat it like a normal day. I think I was afraid of jinxing the whole thing! I went to work and, to be honest, got very little accomplished.

I was overwhelmed by the Social Media support and encouragement I received from friends, family, other authors and the general public. As a new author you don’t really know what to expect, and I certainly did not anticipate the avalanche of good wishes and new followers.

The most exciting thing is seeing all the new followers who are not authors – though I’ve picked up some amazing, top-notch writers as new “friends” this week! But it’s the readers who really tickle me and who I want to talk to.

 Any let-downs or disappointments?

Um, you mean other than someone giving my book a 3* review before it was even available? Not really. I wish more people would leave reviews on Amazon, but it’s only been a week and I do have to give them time to read it! I’d like to have more actual dialogue with my readers and I hope that will develop with time, but overall it’s been fabulous. The book has done better than I could have hoped for and I think it will continue to slowly develop a strong, dedicated following.

Talk to us about the publishing process itself – as a debut author, what have you learned along the way?

Wow – there’s so much! I have to say, I was surprised at how much really goes into the process. Despite numerous writer conferences and a lot of research, I was still naïve enough to think that it would be a straightforward submit/edit/release process.

Phasms Vol 1 took 5 or 6 rounds of editing to prepare for the reader, and we still didn’t catch everything (awkward to the epic degree)! We did 2 or 3 rounds of developmental edits which focus on plot, structure, pacing and so on. I have to say, my editor (Tiffany Johnstone) was amazingly supportive. She was patient, calming, understanding and all around wonderful person to work with. I was freaked out several times during the process, but she pulled me off the ceiling and reminded me why we needed to do certain things.

The hardest thing, besides not freaking out whenever I received more edits from Tiffany (LOL) was balancing time. Working on edits for Volume 1 while writing Volume 2 was difficult at first. I didn’t even know where to start on the edits when I received the first mark-up. I called an author friend of mine in a panic.

Then there are all of the cover design questions, back-cover/blurb development, PR planning, cover reveal and release day plans. Even with a publisher, there is so much the author has to be involved in and a lot more time is spent working on all the non-writing stuff. You just don’t know until you’re in the middle of it how much time and commitment is involved – but it’s so worthwhile, and who wouldn’t want to be intimately involved in all the details that will see their “book baby” through to its birthday?

So, over all? What would you tell “YOU” from last year at this time?

I would say stay calm, take it one step at a time and enjoy each day, each experience. I would tell myself to reach out more on Social Media for help, guidance, friends and fans and clear your plate of all the time-sucking activities that consume each day, so you can enjoy the moment.

Most of all, I would say embrace the truly beautiful and engaging people that are about to enter your life – there the ones that make this moment exceptional!

Image

Infinite Potential by Barbara Garren

Entranced Publishing

February 24, 2014

Blurb:

Kelsi always Knows when bad things are coming, but even she never thought she’d lose her husband at only twenty-three. Since he died, she’s been living her worst nightmare.

Her nights are filled with dreams of a Dark Haired Man, but her days are full of guilt, because the Man fills her with longing and confusion, promising to give her all she needs, all she wants, all she feared she’d never have again.

If only the dreams would stay in her head where they belong.

Kelsi starts seeing the Dark Haired Man in her waking life, shadowing her wherever she goes.  And when her mysterious new neighbor, Aiden Hardt, knows about the Man in her dreams, Kelsi worries she can’t trust her own mind.

He’s not what he seems.

But even Aiden’s cryptic words don’t frighten her as much as the way she feels around him. Kelsi must sort through her emotions and figure out what’s real before she can ever hope to have a normal life again.

Image

About the Author:

Barbara was born and raised in Southern California, but left to explore the world courtesy of the U.S. Navy. After traveling the world, she forced herself to live a humble life in in San Francisco, New York and Norfolk, Virginia. She now calls San Diego home and you won’t pry her out with a crowbar.

She would be the first  to tell you her husband, Henry, is the inspiration for all the romance, and the real Charlie – who is as cute as he sounds in her books – is a terrorist. When not working for the U.S. Navy, she can be found running, reading or writing. She firmly believes a well rounded diet consists of coffee, scotch, chocolate, popcorn and Luna Bars. In that order.

She’s a graduate of CUNY and Penn State – and manages to write a decent line here and there despite those burdens.

Social Media Links:

Twitter

Blog

Facebook

Image

<a id=”rc-603a177″ class=”rafl” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/603a177/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

<script src=”//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js”></script>

Leave a Reply

